top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

Same Pattern, 8 Months Later

McCall's 7561. We meet again.

Back to the Future III as a visual representation of me using this pattern again

My original experience with this pattern led to one failure and one semi-wearable garment. It was so bad that when I transferred my site I removed the blog post because I just didn't want to be reminded of my mistakes.






I couldn't let McCall's 7561 think it had me. I've spend the last 8 months building my skills. I felt that this time I would rise victorious.

McCall's 7561 thinking it beat me

Enter the I Miss My Cat Dress.


I suppose I should provide a little more backstory:

I love my cat. I've mentioned him before. He's at my parents' house because I can't have him in my dorm room, but anytime I come home it's a sweet reunion- after he ignores me for a day because he's mad at me for leaving.


This wonderful jersey fabric with tiny cats all over it made me think of my cat and I knew that I had to make a dress devoted to him.


And also show McCall's 7561 who's boss around here.


My Adjustments

This time I added an inch to the shoulders. I left the waist as is since it was fine and I was wrong to change it before. The previous garment I took an inch off the waist but that was because the fabric I was using had no recovery so it didn't bounce back like it should have.


I didn't use the skirt pattern piece. I lengthened the shorter hem pattern by 7 inches then just cut a rectangle to gather down.


The Final Garment

Okay, here's the original dress- at least the version that wasn't terrible. You can see that the neckband around the back has no structure. The shoulders are too small, and the waist is all stretched out because the fabric has no recovery.

And- the big reveal of the I Miss My Cat Dress!

Tada! I won! Amazing what 8 months of sewing does to your skills!

Me beating this pattern as portrayed by Back to the Future III

In all honesty, it's wonderful to see how I've improved in these months. Just by continual sewing, researching, and determination I've gotten better. I haven't taken any classes. This has just been me using patterns, being inspired by all the lovely sewists in Instagram, and refusing to settle for 'good enough.'

I've learned more about the shape of my body and how to draft for it on a pattern. I've learned how to make clothes that I'm comfortable in- and what clothes I'm not. And that's wonderful! I've never felt better about what I wear!

You don't need to start sewing at a young age, or to take expensive courses to start sewing. You can just get a machine, some fabric, and go!


I suppose what I'm trying to say is that you haven't missed your time frame to pursue your passion. And just because your skills aren't great doesn't mean they never will be. The best time to go for what you want is now!

Thank you so much to everyone who has watched me grow. I have a ways to go, but I've come so far already.

And celebrate yourself as well! You've had successes! You're doing a good job too!

And I'm so happy it's Spring and the beautiful flowers are back. Something about the sunshine just makes everything better.

And now I have a dress to wear whenever I miss my cat. Which is all the time.


Keep on stitching!

Emma

Comments


bottom of page