top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

A year In Review: 2018

As 2018 comes to a close, I want to spend some time reflecting on what I made this year. I became serious about sewing this year, and I can see that my craftsmanship has improved with each project I tried. Not all projects were successful, but my failures have really pushed me to take sewing seriously and solve those issues instead of giving up on on the craft.


Here's a photo collage of all my makes I'd like to remember. There are a few other items I created that I have removed all evidence of because they were so awful.

Starting from the top, I have the first item I self-drafted, and what started this whole decision to pursue sewing and blogging. It's a pleated mini skirt that buttons closed. It was and wasn't simple to make. What I mean is that it is just a rectangle of fabric as long as I wanted and wide enough to be pleated. But somehow my math for the pleats- or my pleating- came up wrong and the skirt was too big. But I did a quick fix by making the placket way bigger. Anyway, it's a cute skirt and I still wear it. People tell me it gives them Clueless vibes, which I guess is a compliment? The buttons are adorable little flowers which are my favorite part about the skirt.


Then I finished up my first year of college, went home for the summer, and had a lot of time on my hands. And I filled that time with sewing! I got so much stuff made, and this is really where I began to discover the magic of taking time to sew it right. I made a lot of mistakes over the summer and had quite a few half-fails and two utter failures.


The coral orange maxi dress is awful and I don't know what I was thinking when I decided to make it out of the swimsuit fabric. No matter how cute the pattern is, the wrong fabric will ruin it.


The cotton Colette Sorbetto top is probably my favorite since it is so comfortable and versatile with layers. I also made the Vogue 9251 to wear to my sister's graduation and then reused the pattern to make my choir gown- so that's a pretty big win! Yet, the highlight of my summer and of 2018 has been my gingham shorts made from Simplicity 1887. They are so cute, thrifty, and perfect for summer. I can't wait to wear them in 2019!


In the fall, the Tilly Agnes Top was the make where I figured out how to fit patterns to my body. Because it is so tight fitting, there could be no hiding a bad fit. I'm so proud of what I figured out and ecstatic with the final result. I am ready and willing to do more fitting in the upcoming year!


But then there was another fail with the Peppermint Ruffle Sleeve Top- another example of great pattern and wrong fabric, and some terrible construction. It was a project I should have taken slower and been more thoughtful about.


Then, my final project of 2018 (which I finished only a couple of hours before I had to leave my sewing machine behind for winter break) is the green pants made from a thrifted bedsheet. It is the same pattern as the gingham shorts and just as comfy.


I'm proud of what I've accomplished this year. I had some good wins and some fantastic failures. I'm ready to take on 2019 and all of it's crafty potential!


I've decided to join the Make Nine challenge to give myself some expectations and projects to work towards.

  1. Sew Over It Libby Shirt

  2. Colette Penny Dress

  3. Tilly and the Buttons Ness Skirt

  4. Victory Patterns Boundless Style Something (I haven't decided exactly what but probably a skirt)

  5. Casual Sweet Clothes Coat

  6. Megan Nielsen Rowen Bodysuit

  7. Peppermint Magazine Wide Leg Pants

  8. Tilly and the Buttons Arielle skirt

  9. Gertie's New Book for Better Sewing Portrait Blouse

I also have a list of re-sew-lutions (hehe) that I want to focus on incorporating into my craft.

  1. Iron every seam. I skimped out this year and it really shows on projects.

  2. If it sucks, redo it. Sometimes the stitching or seams just turn out awful. If I hate it, I need to take the time to rip it out and redo it.

  3. Take care of the fabrics and they will take care of you.

  4. Make what flatters you and what makes you happy. See a dorky cotton print and want to make a skirt with it? Do it!

  5. Wear what you make with pride! It's the only one of it's kind and you have it!

  6. Focus on the fit.

  7. Hand sewing is good. Learn some new stitches and how to use them in projects.

  8. Try out little details like lace insets, piping, gathers, overlays, etc. Who says handmade stuff has to be boring?

  9. Try new fabric: velvet, mesh, satin, chiffon, etc. See what you can make with those!

  10. Lastly, refashion. Beat fast fashion by upcycling. Save yo' money!

And then this year I want to try costuming. I think it would be so fun to make something historical and use some out-of-the-box fabrics that aren't practical for everyday wear. I also want to make my Halloween costume which I'm probably thinking about way too far in advance, but it's never too early to plan.


I'm really proud of how far I've come with my sewing and I'm so excited to grow my skills in 2019!


Keep on stitching!

Emma

1 Comment


gcerpa
Jan 23, 2019

Wow impressive, good job!

Hey, I use the flat iron hair to iron small hems.

Like
bottom of page