top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

Fall sewing plans

Updated: Dec 11, 2018

The leaves are changing colors, which means it's time for a wardrobe change as well. Where I'm from, it rains all throughout this season so shorts and tanks get thrown in the back of the closet for sweaters and jeans.


My To-Make list for this Fall has changed about four times. I've got so many patterns I want to sew and so many fabrics I want to use, and even fabric types I want to try!


But I am a college student who walks everywhere on campus with a heavy backpack full of textbooks and notebooks- which isn't exactly stylish. But, I could make outfits to match my backpack.


I've narrowed down my list to patterns that are practical (and cute!) for trekking to class in the cold, rainy weather of the Pacific Northwest.


Tilly and The Buttons Agnes Top

When I went to Fabric Depot with my Mom at the beginning of summer, I treated myself to a wonderfully soft bamboo jersey. I have promised to save it for the perfect pattern and this is it! It's going to make such a wonderful tee shirt and I hope to wear it all the time in the fall.

A soft jersey decorated with little black flying birds on a light pink background

I absolutely adore the print and color of this fabric which is why I was willing to spend more on it. I would have been haunted if I didn't buy it. It doesn't show up well in this photo, but it has a beautiful soft pink tint.


In The Folds Ruffle Sleeve Top

I love a good free pattern, and Peppermint magazine does not disappoint. They released this top pattern in collaboration with In The Folds and I would love to have this in my wardrobe this season.

A black shirting fabric with little white dots stitched into it. One side had white threads running across it

One of the first things I ever made was out of this beautiful shirting fabric. I have some left over so I hope to use it to make this. All those white dots are actually stitched on with white thread which I think is super cool.


Tilly and the Buttons Bettine Dress

Another Tilly and the Buttons! Their Bettine dress pattern is super cute and looks to be a quick sew. I actually bought the pattern when a similarly styled RTW showed up in my Pinterest feed. That one was made out of a dinosaur fabric.

A cotton lawn fabric decorated with grayscale bows on a bright coral background

Sadly, I do not have dino fabric but I do have this adorable bow print stretch cotton lawn which will make a great Bettine!


New Look 6518 pants

This pattern is definitely intended for warmer weather, but I think the pants are wearable in the cold as well. They are made with an elastic waist so I'm really banking on them being something I can lounge around in but also wear to class. I gotta be honest, I can't wear PJ's to class I don't care how early it is.

A rayon twill with navy blue and white threads

It's going to be make out of this lovely rayon twill that I got at Fabric Depot. I love the weight and softness of it, so I think it will be super comfy.


Simplicity 1887

If this looks familiar that's because I made shorts with this pattern in summer. For the colder weather, I want to make the cropped pants version in a forest green color. I think green matches really well with the pink Agnes top, and will look good with the other colors in my wardrobe.

I picked up a green bed sheet from my local Goodwill which will be perfect for these pants. The shorts were also made from a thrifted sheet so I know it works! Gotta save money were I can!


Colette Selene

I got this skirt pattern in a mystery box from Colette and I just love the details. It's more advanced than I'm used to, but I'm ready for a challenge!

Two fabrics lay next to each other. One is a bright blue knit, the other is a dusty pink twill

I got a viscose twill from Fabric Mart for this make. It was in their as-is section so there are some flaws with it, but that just means I got it for cheap. It's such a lovely rose color I could not pass it up! Unfortunately, the fabric does not photograph well by itself so I had to put it next to this blue fabric. It's till not as vibrant as it should be, but trust me! It's a beautiful fabric!


McCall's 7531

I've had this pattern for a while, but honestly the style is out of my comfort zone. Personally, I'm not a fan of tight skirts and dresses. However, I like the way bodycon dresses look on other people. So, I bought a gorgeous polyester/rayon blue knit and figured I should give this pattern a shot just to see if it like it on me.

A viscose knit fabric that is light blue. It has a tight weave and holds its shape

Tilly and the Buttons Agnes Top into Dress Hack

Agnes Top shows up twice on this list, but this time I want to do hack it to be a dress. I've seen lots of other people do this on Instagram.

This knit fabric has little white cats on a gray background. Some cats are sitting, sleeping, or walking. Little white birds balance on them.

I got a cat jersey fabric to make this with and I'm super excited to use it for this dress. I love cats. Just to prove how much I love cats here is a picture of my cat, Crosby who I will dedicate the making of this dress to.

An adorable black cat sitting on a comfy bed

Here's the lineup of pattern for Fall! I'm excited to see what I can make and learn this season, and I would love to hear what you guys are planning on making!


Keep on stitching!

Emma

1 Comment


gcerpa
Jan 23, 2019

Those are good looking textiles!

Like
bottom of page