top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

New Make, Who This? Adrienne Blouse!

Tonight the super trouper lights are gonna find me... Shining like the sun... Smiling having fun.. Feeling like a number one...

This blouse makes me feel like a 70's super star, which is a feeling I never knew I needed till I had it! I'm not usually one who goes for the 'in the spotlight' look, but I like it way more than I thought I would.

Made from a sparkly polyester/lycra knit from Fabric Mart, this top is the most extra item of clothing in my closet. I love it!


The Pattern

This is the Adrienne Blouse by Friday Pattern Company. Intended for knits of any kind so long as it has 25% stretch. The sizing goes from XS to XXL.

Photo from Friday Pattern Company

The style of this blouse has a lovely scoop neckline and back. But the real show stopper are the sleeves. Large and in charge!


My Adjustments

I cut a size XS in the bust and graded to a size S at the waist and hips. I cut the sleeves and neckband also as a size XS.


The assembly process was very simple and quick too. It's good project for anyone just beginning to sew with knits.


The Finished Garment

*Cue Those Funky Tunes*

I finished this top one evening as my friends reclined around my dorm room. Never one to pass up an opportunity for a dramatic reveal, I had my friend put on Super Trouper by ABBA as I emerged from behind my wardrobe door shining like the sun.

What a statement piece! I knew this pattern would lend itself well to having a little shine in it and I'm glad I followed my intuition. I spent hours searching for the perfect striped knit with a metallic stripe till I finally landed on this fabric. I figured it was all or nothing and I had to go for it.

I was a little nervous that it would be too much. Wasn't really aiming to be a walking disco ball- Like Mike Wazowski from Monsters University.

Spot the Difference

I'm glad I took the leap of faith with the material. The smiles people give me made it worth it. My funky top might have been the brightest part of their day! And honestly, I don't care if I look like a human disco ball because I feel great in it.

In terms of pattern, this was super easy and very flattering. I laughed when I saw how big the sleeve piece was- it's bigger than the bodice! And they include a marking where you can length the sleeve to make it even wider if they aren't already dramatic enough for you!

All and all, I love this top! I can't help but hum ABBA as I wear it. And then I get my friends to sing it with me, and it's a singalong. This is a party top, fit for only the finest throwback tunes!


Keep on stitching!

Emma

Comments


bottom of page