top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

November 2018 Pinspiration

Another month has come and gone... And now we are just a few weeks from the end of the year. Yikes!


November: the kickoff month to the holidays filled with lots of schoolwork and traveling home for turkey. This month was busy for me. School started to pick up, work got busy, and I just didn't have a lot of time to waste on Pinterest. So, my board is sadly looking a little sparse, but there are a few good saves that I really like and will come back to for inspiration.


I had quite a bit of tartan/plaid prints on this board, which isn't a surprise to me since I love that style for Fall. There were a couple Spring dresses as the weather was really nice for quite a while. It was cold but really sunny, so I was drawn toward brighter prints and colors.


Here is the roundup of some of my favorite pins from November!

A pastel rainbow striped oversized knit cardigan
Photo found on Pinterest

I absolutely love this cardigan! The pastel colors, the large and baggy size, the stripes- it's beautiful! Super cute and comfy!

I've picked up knitting as a way to de-stress after school, and it is a really good craft for that. It's easy to do and mobile, so I can take it home during the break. I'd love to start knitting sweaters and cardigans, and this looks fairly simple compared to other types of cardigans I've seen. It's made from a chunky knit and a rib stitch. Plus, since it's over-sized there isn't a lot of hassle trying to fit it properly. And it doesn't have to be made from these bright, spring colors. Using deeper jewel tones, this would be perfect for winter.

A golden dress with a square neckline, button front, and pleated skirt
Photo from Pinterest

This dress is so sweet. I keep coming back to it. I'm getting Sound of Music Maria vibes from it. I want to wear it and go run around atop the hills singing.

This dress has the recently popular square neckline style. The sleeves are bishop (?) style which is also making a debut. The waistband gives it a flattering shape around the waist while the rest of the dress is very flowy and loose. I also really love the detail of the buttons down the front. Simple, but sweet.

A pink, gray, and blue suit set. The top is boxy and flares at the shoulders and waist. The pants are wide and cropped at the calf
Photo from Pinterest

This is probably the most couture pin I have ever saved. It looks so out of place mixed in with my other pins of denim skirts and Modcloth styles. But I was so drawn to the cut of the top and the mottled fabric.

I adore the color palette of this outfit: pink, gray, blue, and yellow. Once again, a little bright for the season, but I love it nonetheless. The wide, cropped pants were really popular in the transition from Summer to Fall. But what really fascinates me is the top. It's pretty structured compared to the pants. The collar is a faux turtleneck (is there a more accurate word?) and the sleeves are grown on and finished with a hem band. It flares at the hip and is belted in at the waist.

It's a new take on a classic blazer. It has work wear vibes, but the shape is unconventional. I like it!

A coat with the top made from a red-orange wool and the bottom made from a tartan. It has a wide collar and extends to the knee. It looks really warm.
Photo from Pinterest

This is one of my favorite pins this month. Long coats are super popular right now, but the color/pattern blocking is not something I see very often, but I like it a lot!

So often coats are just one color because they are such a large part of an outfit, but they don't have to be. Coats can be fun too!

Adding the color block between the top and the bottom is a good way to accent your waist as opposed to having a belt. It breaks up the long block of color and keeps the eye focused.

A two piece set with a crop top and long, wide leg pants. It's made from a burgundy velvet with satin flowers on it
Photo from Forever 21

Velvet still remains popular as ever. If anything, I've only seen it grow in power since the beginning of the season to now.

This two piece set is gorgeous and perfect for a holiday party. The fabric has satin flowers in it which is really beautiful. The straight leg pants and the crop top are a bit cold for the weather but put a lovely fur coat over top and you've got a classy- and warm- look!

A woman stand in a oversized deep blue crew neck top with a mustard yellow long, straight cut skirt. She looks bold
Photo from Style DuMonde

What I love about this outfit is the color combination. Bright mustard + deep blue = fun! I also really like the shape of the skirt. Since it's long it can still be worn out in the cold weather.

I also really like the balance of the outfit. With the loose top, having a more fitted bottom can help keep the outfit from looking undone or baggy.

A McCall's 1950 ad. A drawn woman stands in a red dress. There are ruffles and frills around the neckline and hemline. She looks ready to dance
Photo from Pinterest

Here's some vintage inspiration for ya! This is definitely not Fall-Winter appropriate, but the ruffles on the dress are so lovely. I've been wanting to make a dress with a ruffle hem since summer and this photo just reignited that desire.

The woman in the photo is also wearing matching gloves and shoes, so she looks super put together. I could plan to make a dress that matches some shoes, but I would have to buy new shoes... which I am not opposed to.

A woman wears a light pink velvet dress. It has a V neck and princess seams. The skirt is short and gathered. Not good for the winter weather, but cute.
Photo from OASAP

More velvet! I gotta be honest, this dress looks more like a nightgown to me as opposed to a party dress. I don't imagine that the crushed velvet is comfortable to sleep in.

I like how the bodice is pieced together, and I'm a big fan of this shade of pink. Perhaps wearing a sweater underneath will make this a warmer outfit and more suitable for the weather now. Unless you live in a place that is warm, then lucky you!


Let me know what is inspiring you right now as we enter into the holiday season! Do you have any holiday party sewing plans?


Keep on stitching!

Emma

Comments


bottom of page