top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

October 2018 Pinspiration

I'm not a huge fan of fall weather. Where I live, it gets really gloomy and rainy. We don't see the sun for months and we always have to either wear a raincoat or bring an umbrella with us because it can start pouring in an instant.


However, I do like the autumnal aesthetic a lot. Any other believers that apple cider is the greatest drink ever? Plus, the trends most prominent this season are pretty great in my humble opinion.


Plaid, tartan, and checks, oh my! I love it. I'm a big fan of the deeper colors such as jewel tones making an appearance. Now that the world has turned gray it's time to wear our own bright colors.


In this post I have collected my favorite pins over the month of October. You can check out the full Pinterest board here to see everything.


Green knit turtleneck cropped sweater
Photo from Shop Priceless

Nothing says cozy like a cropped sweater. Your stomach may get cold, but your arms and neck will be warm! Tilly and the Buttons released the Nora Top pattern which is a great style match for this top. I have plans to make this pattern up this winter.

Orange Cotton Canvas wide leg high waisted pants
Photo from Lykke Wullf

Wide leg pants are super popular right now. Several sewing patterns are out there so you can make your own: True Bias Lander Pants as well as Peppermint Magazine and In The Folds Wide Leg Pants (free!) to name a couple. Set the ankle free!

Blue sheer dress with bishop sleeves and ruffle hem

This month I was really loving the ruffle at the hem of garments. By Hand London released their Eloise dress pattern which the above dress reminds me of. That pattern could easily be made in a sheer fabric with a lovely slip underneath, and it could be so classy.

Red polka dot mini wrap skirt with ruffle at hem
Photo from bruwho.tumblr

Ruffles again. This time on a wrap skirt. It's a great way to add detail to a simple design. Plus wrap skirts just go well with everything. In the photo, the woman wears it with a tee shirt but it would look just as nice with a blouse or a sweater.

Woman with plum colored tank and bright yellow high waisted pants
Photo from Guita Moda

What a striking ensemble! I adore the bright yellow pants with the deep plum tank top. This is such a fun color combination that actually looks rather put together with the matching purse and white heels. Don't be afraid to go wild with the colors. Pairing a cool tone with a warm contrast is a simple way to add interest to an outfit.

Collared shirt and the fabric has pastel cats as mermaids
Photo from Miss Patina

Would it really be a complete Pinterest board without some kind of funky print? What got me with this one is that those are cat-mermaids! Mercats! It's purr-fect! There are lots more funky prints on my board that you should check out too!

Woman in black turtleneck with a fitted houndstooth dress. She looks like she could destroy you in court
Photo from brandeddcatwalkdesigners

I love this photo because this woman looks like she could destroy you in court. Both basketball and law. As for her clothing, I really appreciate the frayed hem to give an undone feel to an otherwise structured garment. I also love how it can be layered in the cooler weather, or worn alone. All around, this is a really classy photo.


A jewel blue velvet circle skirt
Photo from ModCloth

Colder weather is velvet's time to shine! This luxurious fabric makes an appearance at the end of every year. I'm super excited to sew with this fabric in the winter. The pattern doesn't have to be very fancy or complicated. A simple skirt like this can really let the fabric's texture and sheen be the center of attention.

A woman wears a mauve velvet bomber with scarves. She looks warm

Speaking of velvet, how perfect is this bomber jacket! I love it so much I want to make one exactly like it! The PaperCut Patterns Rigel Bomber is a pattern to try for this. I feel like my wardrobe is not complete until I have an outfit entirely composed of velvet. That fabric is all I want this winter.

A woman stands in a long yellow plaid trench coat
Photo from Who What Wear

Who can forget about coats? I do all the time, but now that the winter winds are blowing in it is time to protect yourself from the elements. This woman is wearing a bright yellow trench coat and it's such a statement. She looks so bold with the wide lapels, big buttons, and hem that reaches her calf. Don't mess with her.


But the loose, flowy coats are really great this time of year since they are so easy to wear. This year, there are a lot of good coat patterns. I really want to try my hand, but I haven't been sewing for very long. If you have any simple coat patterns recommendations please let me know as I would love to make one!

A woman is wearing a white tee with a bright yellow button up dress over the top

I love the layering that happens in the fall. It's too cold to be wearing a tee shirt on it's own, but not cold enough for a thick coat. This woman has put a summer dress over a tee shirt which is a perfect way to continue wearing those cute dresses even into the fall.

A woman wears a stylish plaid blazer matching a pair of cropped pants
Photo from Who What Wear

I adore this trend: matching blazers and pants! It's so classy and put together! You don't even have to try very hard. The woman in this photo is wearing a tee shirt underneath her blazer. Stylish for the office, going out, or maybe even doing chores. And you could find a matching suit like this at the thrift store!


Let me know what has been inspiring you this month! I would love to hear!


Keep on stitching!

Emma

Comentarios


bottom of page