top of page

Spring 2019 Sewing Plans

The sun is finally back- at least in theory. It's still going to rain here for most of the season, but the flowers are blooming and the world is bright again. Now I understand how Superman can get his powers from the sun!


Thanks so the extra vitamin D I'm getting, I'm way more inspired to sew and make clothing. I've found that I like warm weather clothes more than I like cold weather clothes. I just feel more confident about myself in sundresses and skirts than over-sized sweaters and jeans.


My mind is wild with designs and ideas, but I have to remind myself that I am a full-time student who- sadly- doesn't have all the time in the world to sew. This list is a bit short because of it, but I've tried to choose projects I've put on the back-burner so I can use up this fabric that is overtaking my side of the room.


Peppermint Wide Leg Pants

Photo from Peppermint Magazine

This was on my plans list last season, but I didn't find the time to make them. I'm hoping now that I have the fabric I can sit down and get it done. It's going to a be a project that will push my skills further, so here's hoping I can actually do it!


Colette Hazel

Photo from Colette

This dress have been on my to-make list for almost a year now. I've adored this shape and cut of the dress and even have the perfect fabric for it. I've just been pushing it off for better weather (and better skills). Well, now is the time! I'm going to add a ruffle to the bottom edge of the skirt just because I think it will look cute.


Tilly and the Buttons Ness Skirt

Photo from Tilly and the Buttons

I got the Nora-Ness pattern combo when the two were release. I made Nora already, and now I want to make her sister- Ness. I'll probably try this pattern before I make the pants since I won't have to do any crazy fitting and I can just focus on getting the zipper fly right. Also, the denim fabric I have for this pattern has beautiful roses all over it which is perfect for flower season.


Peppermint Wrap Skirt

Photo from Peppermint Magazine

This was a bit of a surprise addition to the lineup, but I'm probably most excited about it. I bought this beautiful red linen from Fabric Mart and I wasn't sure what I wanted to do with it until I watched Tarzan. Jane is my top favorite Disney character and she has the most amazing red wrap skirt she wears while exploring the jungle and doing science. I put all three components together to decide that making this skirt would be the perfect way to begin dressing like the amazing scientist herself.


Thanks for reading! I would love to hear what you're planning on making this season (doesn't have to be sewing related!) and/or what you're most excited for in the spring!


Keep on stitching!

Emma

Comments


bottom of page