top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

Winter Sewing Plans

Winter is coming.


If you read my Fall Sewing Plans and kept up with my posts then you will know that I have not finished everything that I wanted to for that season. I did set myself up for failure though. What was I thinking trying to make eight items while also being a full-time student with two jobs?


I'd say I'll do better this time, but I can't make any promises. But now it is time to wipe the slate clean and begin again with a new list of potential makes for the winter.


I am really excited about these so, hopefully, I will be more dedicated to finishing them.


I don't have photos of fabric since I am away from all my supplies right now, but I have included some drawings of my planned garments. So, enjoy those if you want!


Tilly and the Buttons Nora Top

The moment I saw this pattern on Instagram, I knew I had to make it. So, I bought the bundle of the top and the skirt pattern while it was on sale. And of course, I seem to have a Tilly pattern in every plan and I'm not one to ruin a streak.

Photo from Tilly and the Buttons

It is everything I want: loose fit, turtleneck, and wide sleeves. The sample they made is this pink stripe and while I have been in denial of that color for about ten years I am ready to accept it back into my life with full fanfare.


I bought a pink jersey from Jo-Ann's for this make. It's soft and cuddly and I'm ready to spend the rest of my life in this comfy top.


Peppermint Wide Leg Pants

Is this a true plans post if I don't include a Peppermint magazine free pattern? This pattern is from Issue 38 and it is so on trend.

Photo from Peppermint Magazine

I want to make it out of velvet, but that could end up being a train wreck. I have several odds up against me such as having never sewn with this type of fabric or sewn a zipper fly before. This will be a make that I am going to have to really prepare for and take my time with so I can do it right.


I'm always up for a challenge, so long as it doesn't fail.

Here is my drawing of the Nora top and the pants. I plan on wearing these together. The top is a baby pink. It is washed out in this photo. And I don't have the fabric for the pants, so I'm not completely sure if they are going to be black. They could be green, or purple.


Tessuti Patterns Monroe Turtleneck

This is a free pattern by Tessuti Patterns. It does look a lot like the Nora Top by Tilly, but it has a slimmer look. Really, I just like turtlenecks this season.

Photo from Tessuti Patterns

I have a forest green burnout velvet knit (say that ten times fast!) with metallic threads so I has a cool shine. I think I got it from Fabric Mart. My only concern is that the metallic threads will make the shirt itchy and then I won't wear it as much. But I want to use the fabric and I can always wear a tee underneath.

This is the little drawing I did to get an idea of how I want this top to look. The colors used are a little misleading since the green is a lot darker and the yellow is more gold, and shiny. And now that I think about it, the metallic threads could even be silver. It's just a sketch.


Butterick 3088

I got this pattern along with my first sewing machine about four years ago. I was a bit wary of the silhouette thinking that I could make me look older than I am, but looking at it now I really like the shape and length.

I left my copy of the pattern back at college so I looked up the pattern on Google Images

I'm going to make View C which is the shorter, flared skirt. I got a beautiful, deep red corduroy from Bolt Fabric Boutique in Portland that I will make it out of. I'm really excited to start working with fabrics that have texture to them. So, even though it is just one color, the soft pile will make this simple pattern look really cool. And I'm ready to have some warm skirts in my closet.


Friday Pattern Company Adrienne Blouse

This is a last minute addition to my plans, but I just had to include it. This pattern released recently and I was immediately drawn to it. But, I told myself I could wait till spring to make it.

I was wrong. I need it now.

Photo from Friday Pattern Company

So many beautiful versions of this top have been popping up on Instagram and those photos have only fed the fire. I have a light blue/lilac stretch crepe that might work for this top but it is very possible to not be stretchy enough. That won't deter me from making the top- it's an excuse to go buy some fabric!

And here is the drawing I made of the top and skirt. The neckline is incorrect and the skirt is probably longer than mid-calf, but you get the idea!


Thanks for reading about my plans! Let me know if you have anything you are dying to make this winter season!


Keep on stitching!

Emma

1 Kommentar


gcerpa
23. Jan. 2019

Go Emma!!

Gefällt mir
bottom of page