top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

New make, who this? In the folds Ruffle Sleeve top

Printed PDF, Batman! Is that a free pattern?

You're right, Robin! Peppermint Magazine and In The Folds are back at it again!

Peppermint Magazine and In The Folds Ruffle Sleeve Top

Seriously, go check out Peppermint Magazine's sewing school because they have fantastic sewing patterns that cost absolutely no money! I've made a couple of their patterns and they are seriously so amazing. Wonderful for beginners who are unsure about paying, or for broke college students like myself.


I had this make on my Fall Sewing Plans post and decided to use a leftover shirting in my stash. So, I didn't spend any money on this make!


So, this pattern is one of their more popular ones and a very versatile style for your wardrobe. However, I had some difficulties making this, and the finished result is... not my best work.


In fact, I almost didn't post this because I just wanted to forget these mistakes- let alone parade them on the internet. But, I am learning and part of learning is making mistakes. So, I'll post this to share what went wrong so that you can do it right the first time.


The Pattern

Let's break it down, shall we?



This is a free pattern from Peppermint Magazine and In The Folds. It has a V-shaped neckline, a boxy fix, and some little ruffles on the sleeves- as the name spoils already.

The sizing goes from A-J. The recommended fabrics are light to mid-weight for either a soft or structured silhouette.


My Adjustments

I cut out a size B and did a forward shoulder adjustment. I didn't do a wide shoulder adjustment like I should have, and that actually makes it difficult to move my arms in this top. I also wish I lengthened the top as it is just a tiny bit short for the jeans that I wear it with.


The Finished Garment

I posted about this top on my Instagram when I wore it after it was finished. I shared about how I'm not happy about the way it turned out, and frustrated with my workmanship. It's been a while, and my thoughts still haven't changed.

My first issue is the fabric I chose to make it out of. I had this beautiful leftover shirting that I dearly love. Just not for this pattern. It's too stiff for the gathers and really accentuates the boxy cut of the top which I am not a fan of on me.

It also wrinkles like nothing else. That's not a huge issue except that pulling out the iron is tedious especially when living in the dorm.


Then, I also messed up when it came to the construction. The instructions say to sew up with 1/4" seam allowance for a French seam. I forgot about that for the first seams that I did, and ended up making the facing too short and the rectangles for the gathers too small.


Frustrating.


I also don't have a foot for my machine that can get as accurate as 1/4". I just found the seaming more difficult than it should have been and would have preferred to omit the French seams altogether for a 1/2" seam allowance instead.

Also, the V-neck does not look good. I believe this is the second or third time I've made something with this neckline. Are they supposed to be this difficult or am I just making things hard for myself?

The facing hem on the inside is really awful. It curves which always lends itself to problems, but thank goodness it is on the inside so nobody will see- right?

All of these are my own mistakes, which is why I'm so frustrated. I could- and should- have done better. Read the instructions! Understand the instructions! Follow the instructions!

So, I'll put this away as a learning experience and move on. I'm not sure if I'll pick up this pattern again. It's just not really my style. But who knows! It's a free pattern so I'm not really losing anything.


Keep on stitching!

Emma


Commentaires


bottom of page