top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

New Make, Who This? Colette Hazel!

This was one of the first dress patterns I picked up. I really loved the simple silhouette, but the interesting cuts make it unique. It was a "one day I'll get there" encouragement purchase.

Well, that one day has come!


As Easter was approaching, and it seemed like a requirement that I make a dress for the occasion. So many people were making theirs and I'm always one to jump that bandwagon. Really though, I was going to be a disappointment to myself if I didn't make this dress.


And I was so nervous about cutting into the fabric and pattern, that making it an occasion dress was a kick for me to get going. I play a mental game with myself to get me to do anything risky.


Granted, this post is going up way later than Easter. It's been an absolutely hectic past few months. I moved across the country for an internship, so I've been working and acclimating to a new environment.


But talking about sewing makes me feel better!


The Pattern

Photo from Colette Patterns

This dress pattern is by the Colette Pattern Company. The sizes run from 0 - 18. It's intended for light to medium weight fabrics that are crisp and hold their shape a little.


I made mine out of a gray striped cotton seersucker from Jo-Ann's. I believe this has been my best fabric-pattern match yet!


My Adjustments

Gosh, there are a lot. I didn't write down most of them because it was in-the-fitting moment and I really needed to get this dress done.


I cut a size two based on my high bust measurement, then I did a small bust adjustment on the inner piece of the front bodice (the one that looks like a V). Doing this alteration actually removed the bust darts from that piece, but I found that it fit fine anyway.


After my first mockup, I discovered that the top was way too short for my torso. I added 9/8" to the bodice so it would sit at my waist.


Then, with the skirt pieces, I didn't use the pattern. I just cut a large rectangle and gathered it down to size. This is my preferred method so that I can save time by not assembling the pattern pieces and I can decide how full I want my skirt to be. Although, when I was shoving two densely gathered pieces of fabric through my machine I regretted this decision- but only in that moment! Afterwards with the finished dress I was very thankful!


Finally, I cut a long strip of fabric with the stripes of the fabric going horizontally to add as a ruffle to the hem of the skirt.


Then, in some in-the-making-of fittings, I took in the bodice by about 0.5" on each side seam that blended into the seam halfway down. It needed to be a little tighter around my bust, but it was just fine at my waist.


The Finished Garment

Toss me in a field of flowers in the golden evening light! This dress is beautiful!

The bodice fits wonderfully, and that is typically where I have the most issues. Usually it is too loose and then I can't go back and change it. I also have problems getting the straps to sit right on the shoulder- but I have some really oddly positioned shoulders so that's to be expected.



It's super comfortable! The fabric really breathes and moves so well. The interesting cut of the bodice shows up with the stripes. It just looks so lovely even though the pattern itself is rather simple.

For the inside, I finished the bodice seams by cutting down the lining and felling the nice fabric over it. It really cleaned it up and it looks really nice. I bound the waist seam with a bias strip, but it make it bulky and it doesn't lay down flat now.


I highly recommend this pattern for someone wanting a simple dress with a twist. And the only thing to watch out for is the side bodice pieces warping since they are cut on the bias. I think this would be a good pattern for beginners wanting a challenge and some interesting play in cutting fabric.

I'm glad that I waited till I was more confident with my sewing skills. Past Emma would not have been able to make this dress well at all. But now I did!

I really love this dress. I've never really had a pretty summer dress to run around the fields of wildflowers in, but this checks all the boxes for that outfit. I don't know where they cliche image comes from, but envision that for a moment. That's how I feel in this dress.

Catch me out there twirling in the flowers!


Keep on stitching!

Emma

Comentarios


bottom of page