top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

New Make who This? Butterick 3088!

Story time!


When I was a young(er) girl, my favorite book was Corduroy: the story of the little bear in the shop window that really wanted to be taken home by a child. However, he was broken- missing a button- so nobody wanted him. Deciding to find a button so people will love him, he sneaks out of the toy store into the mall. This plan doesn't work and he is taken back to the to store still missing a piece of himself. However, that doesn't matter to a young girl who comes to the store, purchases Corduroy, and replaces the button herself.


I had a little Corduroy bear myself. And I think I can trace my love for this type of fabric back to my love for this story.


One of my re-sew-lutions for 2019 I mentioned in my 2018 Reflection post is trying new fabric and corduroy was at the top of my list. I love its texture! Even plain corduroy looks interesting and it can make the most basic pattern unique.


I had this skirt pattern for a long time and figured it was time to try it out. It's is on my Winter Sewing Plans list, and I'm glad to have it checked off the list (especially since I didn't get anywhere close to finishing my Fall sewing plans).


The Pattern

The pattern is Butterick 3088 and I got it when I received my first sewing machine about 4 years ago. It's no longer available in stores, but similar patterns are out there.


It has three views that are all different lengths, and View B is a pencil skirt variation. All views have pleats in the front and pleats in the back- save for View B which has darts.


The pattern is intended for bottom-weight fabric, or anything that can hold a pleat well.

My Adjustments

All I did was take in the back pleats by an extra 1/4" so that it was a tiny bit more snug around my waist. But other than that, it fit perfectly!


The Finished Garment

I'm obsessed with this skirt! It's my favorite garment I've made so far.


Another re-sew-lution of mine is to take time finishing my garments well- and while I really wanted to wear the skirt ASAP- I did take my time to do it right.


I finished all the seams Hong Kong style: wrapping it with bias binding. And then the waistband was finished with slip stitches, and the hem was cross stitched down.




I'm really proud of the finishing work and glad I made myself follow through with the re-sew-lution. Even though no one will see the inside of the skirt, I feel better knowing it looks good on the inside as well as the outside.


I want to make a thousand more of the skirts because it is just perfect not only for my style but also for my lifestyle. Having longer skirts are way better for walking around campus and throwing around a backpack, and then the A-line flare balances out my body shape really nicely so it's flattering on me. Win-win!


Plus, it has pockets! I may have found my holy grail pattern.


Keep on stitching!

Emma

Comentários


bottom of page