top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

New Make who this? Mccall's 7531!

I attempted this pattern at the beginning of the Fall and even had it in my sewing plans, but it failed miserably because the fabric I had chosen was not stretchy enough. This was pretty disheartening especially since I had seen so many wonderful versions of this pattern by other makers. They made it look so easy!


But I am not one to be defeated, especially by tissue paper!


So I bought a yard of rib knit from Jo-Ann's, set aside three hours of my evening, and collected all my sheer determination to conquer this pattern.


The Pattern

This is a Learn To Sew for Fun pattern by McCall's and it's intended for knit fabric with at least 75% stretch in four directions. The sizing is from XS to XXL and the usual number sizes are grouped into these six categories.

It's a simple bodycon dress with two different lengths, two neckline options, and three sleeve length options.


I cut a size small and squeezed whatever length I could from the fabric I had.


My Adjustments

I sewed with 3/8" seam allowances because I was very worried about the dress being too tight.


I also did a wide shoulder adjustment for my broad shoulders, and did a sloping shoulder adjustment for my bad posture.


The Finished Garment

This dress took a total of three hours to make split between two evenings. I cut it out an earlier weekend, and then finished it a week later in the couple of hours I had between dinner and movie night with my pals.

The dress looks a little wonky when hanging and I think that is because of my sloping shoulder adjustment. Its funny because the adjustment makes it so the dress looks way better on me, but not very flattering at all when hanging.

I chose to finish the hems with a stretch stitch so it could- in fact- stretch. And I think it adds a really neat touch. This is not your average straight stitch hem.

Under the arm is a bit loose compared to the rest of the garment. If and when I make this dress again, I'm going to have the side seams be 5/8" around the underarm, and then taper into the 3/8" at the waist.

I'm still struggling to get a nice looking neckband, so any tips would be much appreciated!

I was apprehensive about this pattern because of the style. Clothing that is tight around my body and shows off my shape is not anything I'm usually comfortable in. I had seen so many beautiful dresses using this pattern that I felt so compelled to try it out.

Truthfully, whenever I wear something tight fitting, there is this nagging voice in my head that everybody is staring at me. There's this nervousness that this outfit is causing unwanted attention to me.

But I really do like this dress! I love the color, it's comfortable, and very easy to style. And I've received nothing but lovely comments about it from my friends.

So, the fear is something I will have to work through. I should be proud of this dress, and wear it with my head held high.

Because holy handrails Batman! I made that!

Thanks to my amazing, wonderful, beautiful friend for taking these photos of me!

Here are some photo outtakes that are too good to forget about:

Actually how I look all the time

Is this how people pose in photos?

Am I a meme yet?

Keep on stitching!

Emma

1 Comment


gcerpa
Jan 23, 2019

Wow the dress color makes your eyes more beautiful. The fit, the hem length, the fabric selection looks great to me. I recommend to write any notes or instructions for yourself on how to do it differently on your patterns for next time ... because you are making more since this one is incredible! Go Emma!

Like
bottom of page