top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

New Make Who This? Tilly and the buttons NOra Top!

It's official. I love Tilly and the Buttons. If you've noticed by my sewing plans posts, I have one of her patterns on my list every season. I just can't resist the adorable details of her patterns' classic styles.


For my Winter Sewing Plans, the Nora top pattern was top on the list. I got the pattern bundle of Nora and Ness right when it was released. I adored both of the designs (and I was sad about one of my favorite fabric stores closing which prompted the purchase in the first place).


I have never really felt that strongly about a pattern before. Is this love?


The Pattern

Photo from Tilly and the Buttons

This is a sweater/tee shirt pattern with three sleeve length variations, two collar variations, and three length variations.


It is intended for knit fabrics: anywhere from jersey to sweatshirt knits to ponte- you name it! I highly recommend using a soft material for maximum coziness.


The sizing goes from a US size 2 (UK size 6) to a US size 16 (UK size 20).


My Adjustments

For my broad shoulders, I added 1/2" to each shoulder- so 1" all across. Then, for my bad posture, I did a forward shoulder adjustment.


I didn't change anything else as this pattern is meant to be loose fitting.


I made the sweater version out of a soft pink knit I got at Jo-Ann's.


The Finished Garment

This is a sweater that you would wear curled up in a blanket sipping coffee on a Saturday morning as you watch cartoons. And then you would wear it out on the town because it makes you feel cute and comfy.


I'd take this sweater out for a good time! I'd treat it right!

Basically, it is perfection.

The high collar is extremely cute. The oversized sleeves are comfy. The cropped cut is stylish. This pattern is adding up to be a real winner.

I also made a tee shirt version of this pattern with this adorable pineapple print jersey from Jo-Ann's. I adjusted the fit and I took in the sides by about an inch so it wouldn't be so boxy on me.

I did make a wee little mistake. When I made my mockup, I didn't follow the instructions beyond just assembling the top. So, I thought it was super long on me- almost dress length! So, I chopped off a whole 3 inches from the pattern trying to fix this "mistake."

Turns out, the pattern calls for about a 5-inch hem, which means those 3 inches are very important to finishing the garment the way Tilly intended. Oops! My bad!


I finished it with a 1-inch hem and now know to follow instructions to completion when making a mockup before deciding to change the pattern.

Still, a wonderful make and great pattern! I highly recommend! Just watch out for the hem allowances!

Keep on stitching!

Emma


Comments


bottom of page