top of page
  • Writer's pictureIn The Making- Emma

New Make, Who This? Simplicity 1887 Pants!

The title of "Professional Loungewear" definitely applies here. The pants are so comfortable, while also looking rather slick. Wear it to work then flop on the couch- there's no need to change!

Also, take a guess about where this fabric is from.


Did you guess the thrift store? Would you have thought this was once a bed sheet?


Upcycling for the win!


The Pattern

This is Simplicity 1887 which I used before to make shorts. I chose to make the cropped pants version this time around. I also omitted the tie so I could layer over the pants and not have extra fabric in the way.

Photo from Simplicity Patterns

There are front pleats, and then the back of the pants are gathered back with two casings of elastic. That way these pants fit very comfortably and don't need a lot of fitting.


My Adjustments

I decided to add 1" to the crotch seam on the front piece. I think I should have added 0.5" instead. I also added an inch to the hem since I am taller than the height the pattern was drafted for and decided to play it safe.


Other than that, I didn't change anything else.


The Finished Garment

These are super comfy! I love the elasticated back waistband and the wide legs. Perfect for eating lots of good food in and then laying on the couch- which was the plan for this since I wanted to wear it for Thanksgiving.

This isn't the most flattering pair of pants though. The pockets cause the pleats to stick out at an angle instead of laying flat and giving a straight silhouette and you can see that in the above photo. So, I do think I look wider than I actually am in these.

I'm fairly short-waisted, so the waistband hits too high on me. It should sit at my low waist as opposed to my natural waist like it does now. This is a fitting issue I'm discovering with other patterns as well, so it'll be something I'll pay more attention to in the future.

I do think this pattern is better suited to be shorts instead of pants, and I may end up cutting these shorter because I might wear them more that way. Another idea is to taper in the legs a little more.

The fabric is 100% cotton so it is fantastic and feels great on the skin- but it is way more appropriate for summer. I wore it out in cold winter weather and my legs were chilly! I'll put them away till the warmer weather returns and then decide on the length.

(Also, my socks are holiday themed. There is a cat on it with antlers and the words: Meow-y Christmas. It's a little late to be festive, but I was feeling festive when the photos were taken.)


Keep on stitching!

Emma

1 comentario


gcerpa
23 ene 2019

Love the length of those pants, perfect for Spring and Summer with Sandals or flats!

Me gusta
bottom of page